top of page

Biography

Moritz Preisler (*1991 in Bonn) is a pianist and composer based in Cologne.
He studied at the Hochschule für Musik und Tanz in Cologne with Sebastian Sternal, Hubert Nuss, Claudius Valk, Niels Klein, Paulo Álvares, Frank Gratkowski and Jürgen Friedrich and graduated in 2021 with a Master of Music.
As a composer, he moves in a field between contemporary music and various modern, experimental music currents. He works intensively with aleatoric music and mainly writes music for piano and chamber music in smaller ensembles.
Current works include his piano cycle Chiasma and his two piano trio cycles Raureif and Verve.
In 2021, he composed the work Konturen for violin and electric guitar, a contemporary homage to Astor Piazzolla to mark his 100th anniversary. The following year, the piece was premiered as part of the multidisciplinary project Stories For Astor (music, dance and light art by Jacqueline Hen) by violinist Ségolène de Beaufond and the duo Ségotal with Tal Botvinik on guitar.
Moritz Preisler leads several ensembles in which he is both composer and performer:
The Moritz Preisler Trio with David Helm on double bass and Jan Philipp on drums was founded in 2017 and released a recording of the trio cycle "Raureif" on the Cologne label KLAENG Records in 2022.
Other such ensembles include a trio with double bassist Jan Blikslager and drummer Mathieu Clement as well as the collective composer-performer trio De Beaufond / Preisler / Wittbrodt with Ségolène de Beaufond, violin and Emily Wittbrodt, cello.
As a pianist, he is a member of a wide range of ensembles and bands as a performer and improviser. The spectrum ranges from duo to orchestra, stylistically in a variety of directions from art music to popular music and from purely musical to interdisciplinary projects.
Some examples in this area include the quintet of Colombian musician Daniel Tamayo, the Brazilian music collective Banda Nova and the French Orchestre National de Jazz des Jeunes (2019 to 2021 under the direction of Franck Tortiller), but also his work as a classical pianist at the Bonn Opera, as a dance accompanist, in silent film improvisation, setting visual art to music at the Max Ernst Museum in Brühl and as a pianist in improvisational theater at the Haus der Springmaus in Bonn. Concerts have already taken him to various European countries (Germany, France, Italy, Switzerland, Austria, Poland, Belgium, the Netherlands) and to Colombia.
He is also a piano teacher at the municipal music schools in Bonn and Düsseldorf.

DSC07019 edited2.jpg

CONTACT

+49 (0) 17678836727

DSC07702 edited and cut new.jpg

Photos:   Peter Tümmers

bottom of page

top of page

Biographie

Moritz Preisler (*1991 in Bonn) ist Pianist und Komponist und lebt in Köln.

Er studierte an der Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln bei Sebastian Sternal, Hubert Nuss, Claudius Valk, Niels Klein, Paulo Álvares, Frank Gratkowski und Jürgen Friedrich und schloss 2021 mit einem Master of Music ab.

Als Komponist bewegt er sich in einem Feld zwischen zeitgenössischer Musik und verschiedenen modernen, experimentellen Musikströmungen. Er beschäftigt sich intensiv mit Aleatorik und schreibt hauptsächlich Musik für Klavier und Kammermusik in kleineren Besetzungen.

Aktuelle Werke sind sein Klavier-Zyklus Chiasma und seine zwei Klavier-Trio-Zyklen Raureif und Verve.

In 2021 komponierte er mit dem Werk Konturen für Violine und E-Gitarre eine zeitgenössische Hommage an Astor Piazzolla zu dessen 100-jährigem Jubiläum. Im Folgejahr wurde das Stück im Rahmen des multidisziplinären Projektes Stories For Astor (Musik, Tanz und Lichtkunst von Jacqueline Hen) der Violinistin Ségolène de Beaufond durch das Duo Ségotal mit Tal Botvinik an der Gitarre uraufgeführt.

Moritz Preisler leitet mehrere Ensembles, in denen er gleichzeitig Komponist und Interpret ist:

Das Moritz Preisler Trio mit David Helm am Kontrabass und Jan Philipp am Schlagzeug wurde 2017 gegründet und hat 2022 eine Einspielung des Triozyklus Raureif  bei dem Kölner Label KLAENG Records veröffentlicht.

Weitere solcher Ensembles sind ein Trio mit Kontrabassist Jan Blikslager und Schlagzeuger Mathieu Clement sowie das kollektive Composer-Performer-Trio De Beaufond / Preisler / Wittbrodt mit Ségolène de Beaufond, Violine und Emily Wittbrodt, Cello.

Als Pianist ist er Mitglied in einer großen Bandbreite von Ensembles und Bands als Interpret und Improvisator. Das Spektrum reicht vom Duo bis zum Orchester, stilistisch in vielfältige Richtungen von Kunst- und Popularmusik sowie von rein musikalischen bis hin zu interdisziplinären Projekten.

Einige Beispiele hier wären das Quintett des kolumbianischen Musikers Daniel Tamayo, das Kollektiv für brasilianische Musik Banda Nova oder das französische Orchestre National de Jazz des Jeunes (2019 bis 2021 unter der Leitung von Franck Tortiller), aber auch seine Arbeit als klassischer Pianist an der Oper Bonn, als Tanzkorrepetitor, bei Stummfilmimprovisation, der Vertonung bildender Kunst im Max-Ernst-Museum Brühl sowie als Pianist beim Improvisationstheater im Haus der Springmaus in Bonn. Konzerte führten ihn bereits in diverse europäische Länder (Deutschland, Frankreich, Italien, Schweiz, Österreich, Polen, Belgien, Niederlande) sowie nach Kolumbien.

Außerdem ist er Klavierlehrer an den Städtischen Musikschulen in Bonn und Düsseldorf.

DSC07019 bearbeitet2.jpg

KONTAKT

+49 (0) 17678836727

DSC07702 bearbeitet und geschnitten neu.jpg

Fotos:   Peter Tümmers

bottom of page